The power of decisions

I thought the summer holiday would be the hard part, so I meticulously planned for it, making sure I would get enough space to work on Mum&Career. To my own surprise, I got lots done!

Little did I know that getting back after the summer would be the hard part. But, here I was, behind my desk, my son in school and plenty of time for me, but nothing got done.

Was it lack of inspiration?

I hoped the ladies@11 conference, would inspire me and get me back into the swing of things. The stories of hugely successful women, were indeed incredibly inspiring. Each speaker seemed to genuinely believe in the potential for success of each person in the audience, helping us along in our own journeys, giving us guidance and making us think. On top of that they didn’t just talk about their success, but also about where it went wrong, and how hard it sometimes had been.

Now I was inspired. But here I was, behind my desk, everything now back into the routine of the new school term, but nothing got done.

Was it lack of belief in me and my venture?

I was invited to the Hoxton apprentice professional women’s network, and hoped that might help. Ruth Sealy – from the Cranfield International Centre for Women Leaders – spoke on Women in Boards. I came out feeling incredibly empowered. There were 70 professional, senior women around the tables. Seeing how intelligent and capable each of those women was, and being made to feel part of it, made me really believe women can do it. We all can, and that includes me.

Now I had plenty of self belief, I felt empowered. But here I was, behind my desk, wading through more actions, but nothing got done.

Was it lack of a clear action plan?

I went to see a business coach, Paullette Schwartz from Ideal Business. We spent 2 hours in a highly charged session. I came out with a set of actionable items that all made sense to me. It was a relief to now see where to start and why. I could clearly see how the actions would lead to my 6 month objectives, and contribute to my long-term aims and future dreams.  

Now I had a clear action plan. So here I am, behind my desk, getting everthing done, and more! 

Do you know where I was stuck? I had so many ideas that I didn’t really know which one to start with. I ended up starting here today, there tomorrow. Inspiration and empowerment got me all fired up, but decisions got me to action. Wow!

About Inge Woudstra

Founder of Mum & Career - Resources for life choices We offer free inspiration, support and information from women for women. We enjoy helping women to find a way of working and parenting that works for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment