My fabulous, glamorous blog-personality

So what do I do if I didn’t have such a good week? Can I write about that? Surely I want to portray to everyone Mum & Career is doing fabulous and the launch is succeeding, right?

I could of course ramble on about something else, or just make something up. This is when I realised many people probably do. They glamourise and edit their on-line selves. I know, I know people photo-shop their faces, or post ideal ages and careers on dating-sites. But imagine ..one could fake so much more. Parties you go to, just so you look hot on Facebook or fake blog-entries pretending you are funny and successfull.

But lets get to the point, I will own up to it: I didn’t have a great week. I was a bit ready with Mum & Career and staring at the screen altogether. So first I spent a day not achieving anything. Than I gave myself a day off. Considering I have so little days in a week, with dogs and child to care for too, that sort of adds up to half a week off, really.

I went to gossip, chat, drink coffee and hang about. And my word was it ever enjoyable. And guess what, eventually I did hand out some business cards after all. I also learned that some heartfelt ‘Ah, I don’t know how to do this!’ can really work. Several mums and neigbours came up with brilliant ideas and advice. The best one being: ‘why does your newsletter have to be weekly anyway?’ – Ha, indeed! Doing it monthly will save me three quarters of the work and have much more interesting content. What a successfull day that was after all.

About Inge Woudstra

Founder of Mum & Career - Resources for life choices We offer free inspiration, support and information from women for women. We enjoy helping women to find a way of working and parenting that works for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

